Book Review Finding Your Voice by Chilu Lemba

Finding my Voice by Chilu Lemba

That which reverberated, in the middle of the African bush arresting the attention of many, would go on to change my life

I have always thought Chilu Lemba’s voice was a national treasure but I have to admit, I never saw this book coming. I also didn’t think that the voice that reaches millions of households on this beautiful continent ā€“ mine included ā€“ could make me chuckle in every chapter.


This book is well written, easy to read and most enjoyable when read in his voice with a snack on the side. And the cherry on the cake is, it looks great both inside and out.


Sobering, nostalgic, funny and filled with hope; Chilu Lemba brings us his autobiography, which, if you ask me, feels more like a conversation with a friend than it does anything else. Some autobiographies can be a drag but this page turner hits the ball out of the park. It almost feels like a time machine or history lesson which takes you on a journey through time: starting in the 80s, when we meet a starry eyed boy who is spellbound when he meets the first Republican president, His Excellency Kenneth Kaunda; through to the 90s, when the aspiring rapper and performer admires the twang and everything Dr Fredrick TJ Chiluba represented. It also takes us to the time, when Radio Phoenix burnt down, making you hold with batted breath at every moment he described so well, and eventually warms your heart as the Phoenix rises from the ashes.


This book is a simple tale of a young boy finding his voice while growing up in a country that was finding its feet. It is a beautiful reflection of his personal journey which sails on both smooth and rough waters, providing light and shade in the right places.


Hope, loss and finding himself; this coming of age story, to a large degree, offers what I think is the opportunity for the reader to pick his own ingredients in life to create a life unimaginable.

Fame can also create a bubble, and isolate you from from people. In retrospect, I’m glad that bubble popped now and again to bring me back to reality


I love how intimate and raw it is. How little Chilu made me gasp with his mischief and marvel at how well he turned out. I also find it hard to forget the real reasons he wanted to be baptized.
I love the rich history that tied in perfectly at every stage of his life. It was also refreshing to see how several household names started out.


I would have loved to see more Carol though, a proposal maybe ā€“ because I’m a romantic at heart.


So whether you meet Ka Tona, Chills, King Bongo or Sharp Shooter, you’ll chuckle, gasp, and shake your head as you feel his pain, frustration, loss and triumph.

I highly recommend this book to every reader trying to find their feet or better yet, find their voice. A definite must have in your collection.

2 Comments

  1. Nicely done. Like BORN a crime by Trevor Noah I like Autobiographies with a little humor. So Id love to read this.

    Like

    1. You’ll enjoy it. Thanks for reading Josiah šŸ˜

      Like

Leave a Comment